Introduction to Personal Learning Planning

In our seminar today we were introduced to Personal Development Planning, which is the ability to reflect upon skills in order to develop and refine the working practice. This idea of addressing the pros and cons of individual learning allow us to improve our problems and recognize our strengths by identifying how to overcome the various obstacles throughout the design process.

We looked at this practice as described by four designers: Kolb, Schon, Baud and Eraut. They pledged the practices of:

Experimental Learning model:
-Concrete experience
-Observation and reflection
-formation of abstract concepts

Reflective Practice:
-Thoughtfully considering experience
-Applying knowledge to practice
-organisational learning

Problem Based Learning:
-Student centered learning
-Challenges
-Collaboration
-Tutors as learning facilitators

Informal Learning
-knowledge created through informal learning


I will use this section of my blog to record and plan my time and complete regular SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats) to address my needs of improvement. If I feel I need to then I will create an action plan and a timetable to balance my time between university work, recreation and relaxation. This will help me to be more organised and address where I am achieving and lacking, which will help me through my studies this year. I will also use thiis blog space for research, planning and situations to do with my 3rd year placement; this includes working towards my CV, portfolio and my research into companies that I would like to work for.

Leave a comment