Exploring Colours in images

Image

In our recent tutorial we learnt about colour strips and capturing blocks of colour in images. In our session we used paint sample booklets and brought in an image of our choice from an artist we have studied. I identified each colour that was used in the image and matched it with colour blocks in the paint book, then cut them out. To assemble the colour strip I glued each piece together, however I spaced each piece of colour according to how much or how little colour was used. This showed the correct distribution of colour and how the colours worked together on the page. I also added smaller bits of colour to more larger spaces of colour to show the random colour patches seen in the picture. I found this exercise very useful as it allowed me to understand how colours are put together in an image and also helped me comprehend the amount of colour that needs to be considered when looking at a piece of work