I am interested in…minimalist graphic design

Minimalist graphic design is something that has always appealed to me as a creative communicator. I am a big believer in the theory that less is more, especially if the design involves typography. I feel that simplistic, bold words as the design communicate more of a message than if the design attempts to be more creative and involve greater aspects. People are wrong when they say that the designs are ‘too easy’ and ‘too simple’-when designing the simpler designs myself, I have found balancing the design and the negative space difficult; you have a lot of space to play with, therefore you really have to consider the best position for the type/design in order to transcribe the message. Because there is more negative space, you also have to consider, if using type, what the correct typeface should be in order to translate the feel of the design purpose. I prefer minimalist design sometimes as I feel it looks fresh, sophisticated and dramatic, proving the point that you do not need a large amount of elements to put across a message in a design.

Black and yellow

One of my favourite websites to visit for inspiration is pinterest. I often research a lot of graphic design styles, ranging from vintage to modern looks. A colour scheme that I am very fond of is black, white and yellow. I find this very aesthetically interesting to look at, it is pleasing to the eye and over everything it is eye-catching. According to colour theory, the colour that we notice first over all other colours is yellow. I like the use of one colour with black and white as it doesn’t make designs too over-powering; using the bold brightness of the yellow proves an equal mix with the sharp yet blandness of the black and white. I feel that using black, white and yellow is good for modern design that aims to stand out above the crowd  I often use this colour palette and it is something that I would like to stick with throughout my design work.