E4 Brief – Developed designs

scan018 copy

 

Here I developed an initial idea that I favoured from one of my ideas. When developing ideas I was instructed to choose one of my initial ideas and develop it further, which allowed me to add more detail and different variations of imagery to match the same strapline. I decided to use my first idea with the strapline ‘Just Don’t’, which I have used as a parody against Nike’s popular campaign ‘Just Do it’.

just-do-it_0

Nike is famous for sportswear and equipment, therefore the strap line ‘Just Do it’ promotes activity, healthy living and an active lifestyle. My idea was to change the strap line to ‘Just Don’t’, which emphasizes on the idea of simply sitting in front of the TV and watching E4. E4 also added a similar style to the program ‘The Phone Shop’, in which they parodied a current advert for ‘Orange Mobile’:

futures-bright-futures phoneshop_orange

The adverts both use the same text therefore the parody effect can easily be identified, however the straplines are similar which also adds to the comedy. The E4 advertisement also shows that an advert can still be effective even if it is very simple.

E4 brief – initial designs

img_0736

 

To start off with our Estings brief we were given the task to come up with some initial designs and our initial taglines to go with the designs. After coming up with a list of potential taglines I experimented with initial first ideas to get a look and feel of what the poster would look like, and it also gave me a sense of image placement when I used the rule of 3. I drew my initial ideas using pencil first and then outlined them in fineliner pen. I used 5x7cm boxes to fill a page of 8 ideas which were quickly sketched down for reference. Completing initial ideas is good practice as it allows the comparison between different ideas to determine which would be the best idea to bring forward. From these initial ideas I will choose an idea that I like and expand on this.

I am interested in…’Information is Beautiful’ by David McCandless

Whilst studying last year I became very interested in Infographics and how information can translate from boring to interesting through the use of graphic design. I bought this book entitled ‘Information is Beautiful’ by David McCandless, which is a collection of the worlds interesting (and some pointless) information which is grouped together using colour, shape and font to create a solid collection of info graphical work. Not only is his work clean, fresh and colourful, but looking at it teaches valuable information that I didn’t know before through relevant diagram. For our essay brief, we have to design an info graphic poster which visualises our essay topic in a nutshell, therefore this book will be useful as it will teach me more interesting ways of displaying information to make it more appealing to the eye, rather than information becoming lost amongst lists of plain words.

E4 Brief – Brief analysis (Wednesday 15th October)

E4-logo

For our studio brief in Jay’s tutorials we have been instructed to create a poster or an animation for the popular free view channel E4. This project is based along the lines of the current Esting project that e4 runs, which allows members of the public to design and send in adverts in between programs which advertise the programme. The Esting website and current entries can be seen here:
www.estings.e4.com

The focus of the poster/animation will be on the typography, graphic design and the virtual set building when using Cinema 4D. We must capture the look and feel of the E4 channel using the E4 logo (above), our personal heading for the poster, a specific focus on 3D typography, use of the e4 deep purple colour and a consideration for composition.

We must support our design with initial and developed ideas, experimentations both on paper and on screen as well as justification for our project choices. We must document all our work for this project on our blogs.